Sunday, May 5, 2013

Blog Tour: Daynight with Giveaway

On Tour with Prism Book Tours...

It's time to leave Earth and cross over to the other side... it's not as far away as you think!!


Planning Ahead - continued from Sab, The Book Eater

Clean Slate Complex (a daynight novella)
daynight explored the SCI’s iron grip on Thera and the Second Chancers. clean slate complex explores what the SCI is up to on Earth (nothing good). It’s a quick read (~50 pages) but a full story and will help fill in some important pieces, whether or not a person has read daynight or not.
Alexa Knight is the voice of clean slate complex. She’s homeless. Her mom’s sick and in desperate need of medical care and she agrees to help out the SCI in return for help for her mom. Alexa figures out what the SCI is up to, but with her brothers and her mom in the SCI’s clutches, what can she do about it? Alexa’s a tough and feisty character who isn’t afraid to take action. We’ll see more of her in arbitrate as we return to Kira, Blake and Ethan’s story.
Although arbitrate is not yet fully written, it is fully plotted. Here’s what I can tell you (without giving away spoilers since many haven’t readdaynight):
- There’s a year gap between the end of daynight and start ofarbitrate. Any flashbacks that happen cover the year gap (no childhood flashbacks).
- There is a lot of action and movement. The characters aren’t sitting in Garden City, taking what the SCI throws at them. They are on the move. We’ll see a whole lot more of Thera and of what’s happening on Earth.
- The Arbiters play a big role (thus the title). My favorite character (because I love comic relief characters), Jax, plays a huge role. If you loved the snippets you saw of him in daynight you may be willing to throw Ethan and Blake under an SCI bus by the end of arbitrate. That’d be mean though. Don’t do that.
- Everything Kira tried so hard not to deal with in daynight comes back to haunt her in arbitrate. She snaps. And when she comes out of it she’s not quite the same person (in a good way).
- Chapter one is both horrifically grim and funny. Not in the same scene though. Horrifically grim things aren’t funny.
- There will be more controversy, but not about Cleaving. I think we are all done with that one.
arbitrate will be professionally content and copy edited and have alpha/beta reads. This process was more informal in daynight—but after working with a professional editor on clean slate complex I see the benefits and will never go back.

Megan Thomason
Megan Thomason lives in paradise aka San Diego, CA with her husband and five children. A former software manager, Megan vastly prefers writing twisted tales to business, product, and marketing plans. When she isn't typing away on her laptop, she's reading books on her phone—over 600 in the last year—or attending to the needs of her family. Megan’s fluent in sarcasm, could potentially benefit from a 12-step program for road rage, struggles with a Hot Tamales addiction, loves world travel & fast cars and hates paperwork & being an insomniac. Daynight is Megan's first published novel, but fourth written one.

Find & Follow:

by Megan Thomason
Paperback, 324 pages
Published November 26th 2012 by Creatspace

Meet The Second Chance Institute (SCI): Earth’s benevolent non-profit by day, Thera’s totalitarian regime by night. Their motto: Because Everyone Deserves a Second Chance™. Reality: the SCI subjects Second Chancers to strict controls and politically motivated science experiments like Cleaving—forced lifetime union between two people who have sex. Punishment for disobeying SCI edicts? Immediate Exile or death.

Meet Kira Donovan. Fiercely loyal, overly optimistic, and ensnared by the promise of a full-ride college scholarship, Kira signs the SCI Recruit contract to escape memories of a tragedy that left her boyfriend and friends dead.

Meet Blake Sundry. Bitter about being raised in Exile and his mother’s death, Blake’s been trained to infiltrate and destroy the SCI. Current barrier to success? His Recruit partner—Miss Goody Two Shoes Kira Donovan.

Meet Ethan Darcton. Born with a defective heart and resulting inferiority complex, Ethan’s forced to do his SCI elite family’s bidding. Cleave-worthy Kira Donovan catches his eye, but the presiding powers give defect-free Blake Sundry first dibs.

Introducing...  the new Novella:  FREE for the Tour!
On Smashwords!

clean slate complex
by Megan Thomason

Meet The Second Chance Institute (SCI): Worldwide non-profit and do-gooder organization. Their motto: Because Everyone Deserves a Second Chance at Life(TM). Reality: hidden behind every kind act is a dark agenda designed to gain control and force societal and moral extremes. Currently, the SCI’s pushing Project Liberate, a program to woo the poor and downtrodden into their Clean Slate Complexes—where “everything is provided” from jobs to food, shelter, clothing, and education. Unfortunately, as with all things that sound too good to be true, there’s a catch…

Meet Alexa Knight. Feisty, tough and currently homeless in Los Angeles, Alexa agrees to help the SCI in return for medical care for her sick mother. When she starts to suspect there’s more to the SCI than meets the eye will she believe Adam—the boy who saved her life and the SCI’s biggest champion, or Joshua—the attractive enigma who sings about conspiracy theories and pretends to be someone he’s not?

Full of action, humor, romance, twists and turns, clean slate complex is a companion story to the highly-praised dystopian novel, daynight. It can be enjoyed before or after readingdaynight.


daynight Second Chances Giveaway:

Choose what you enter to win wisely. Your stay on Thera may be extended indefinitely.


Highlighting a different giveaway every daynight of the Tour... International Winners will receive a $25 Amazon Gift Certificate and US Winners may choose $25 GC in lieu of Prize Package.

US only. International winners will receive $25 Amazon gift certificate. US winners can opt to receive $25 Amazon gift certificate in lieu of any prize package.Open only to those who can legally enter. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by Rafflecopter and announced on Rafflecopter and Grand Finale posts as well as emailed and the winner will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Burgandy Ice @ Colorimetry and Prism Book Tours and sponsored by Megan Thomason. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Become an SCI Recruit
The Second Chance Institute (daynight's Dystopia)
April   22 - Launch!
                - My Seryniti - Review
                - Little Library Muse
           23 - Tressa's Wishful Endings
                - Buckeye Girl Reads - Teaser
                - Marked by Books Review
                - Red Headed Bookworm
Welcome to Thera!
Building Thera
           24 - Coffee Books and Me
                  Stressed Rach
                  Snuggling on the Sofa - Review
           25 - Christy's Cozy Corner - Teaser
                - All Fantasy Words - Review
Kira * Blake * Ethan
Character Backgrounds & Posters
           26 - Susie Q-Pons and Giveaways - Review
                - My Passion for Books - Review; Ethan
                - Paranormal opinion - Blake
                - The Cozy Reading Corner - Kira
                - Book, Books, the Magical Fruit - Teaser
                - Bookaroo-Ju - Teaser
           27 - Bookworm Lisa - The Characters
                - Getting Your Read On - Review
daynight's Controversy of "Cleaving"
           28 - Fantastical World of Wonders - Review
                - Pause Time
                - A Backwards Story
                - Beck Valley Books
           29 - I Am a Reader, Not a Writer - Teaser
                - Books Mystify - Review
                - Mel's Shelves - Review
Vacation on Earth!
           30 - The Broke Book Bank - Review
                - Letters to the Cosmos - Review
                - Arriane Cruz 
                - Candace's Book Blog
May      1 - Life of a YA Girl - Review
                - Fuonlyknew - Teaser
                - Jack's Junk Drawer - Review
Risking Exile
Dystopian Survival 101
             2 - A Tiffyfit's Reading Corner - Review
                - Lovin' Los Libros - Review
                - Paulette's Papers
                - Becky's Barmy Book Blog 
             3 - Backing Books - Teaser
                - Book Snob - Review
             4 - Hezzi-D's Books and Cooks
                - Living a Goddess Life - Review; Recipe
Clean Slate Complex
             5 - Mortality Bites
                - The Book Eater
                - Deco My Heart - Review
             6 - Passion and Life - Teaser
                - The Reading Diaries - Review
             7 - Grand Finale Blast!!

Wednesday, April 17, 2013

Terra on Tour with Excerpt and Giveaway

On Tour with Prism Book Tours... 

gretchen-001Hello there! My name is Gretchen Powell. I am 24 years old, half-Chinese, and the owner of two adorable miniature schnauzers. I am an occasional drinker of classy wines, and I wrote a book.
By day, I work for a government contractor in our nation’s capital.
By night, I binge on episodes of Doctor Who and sleep fitfully.
Sometime in the mid-afternoon, I write another blog called Honey, I Shrunk the Gretchen! about weight loss, food, fitness, and my life.
Some of my favorite things include polka dots, Harry Potter, pretty much any TV show that airs on Thursday nights (yep, I'm talking Vampire Diaries #notashamed), and playing the ukulele.

Terra (Terrestrials, #1)Terra
by Gretchen Powell
Paperback, 286 pages
Published December 12th 2012 by Hopewell Media


A broken and desolate Earth. A young girl struggling to survive. A lost boy with a powerful secret.

A discovery that will change everything.

In the distant wake of a plague that has decimated the Earth's population, humanity is split in two: The rich and powerful live in skycities that float overhead, while those who remain on the ground have gathered in settlements strewn across a dying planet. Eighteen-year-old Terra Rhodon is a terrestrial--a denizen of the barren groundworld--who makes her living as a scav. Long abandoned by her father, her caregivers gone, Terra supports herself and her younger brother, Mica, by scouring the earth for discarded scraps and metals to recycle for profit. One day, while on a routine scavenging run, she discovers something that shocks her home settlement of Genesis X-16. When the value of her discovery is revealed, Terra's world is turned upside down.

Terra suddenly finds herself asking questions no one will answer. Her search for the truth leads her to Adam--a beguiling skydweller unlike any she has ever met. But Adam has secrets and a quest of his own, and with him by her side, the world Terra thought she knew begins to unravel. Soon her discoveries unearth a terrifying conspiracy that has the potential to shatter everything--a revelation that will test the bonds of loyalty, family, and love.


We pull chairs from the kitchen table and sit facing each other as I clean his wound. “You have to understand that I’m still getting used to all of this,” I say, wrapping a bandage gently around his forearm. I accidentally brush over his wound and he flinches. The dark blonde hairs on his arm stand up.
“All of what?” he asks, his face barely acknowledging the pain.
“You. You’re… you’re this total anomaly. The officials, the guardsmen, even our own teachers… people from up top barely associate with us. They serve their time down here in the hopes of netting something better for themselves when they get back—a promotion, a raise, whatever.” I secure the bandage with a knot, and my fingers linger a little too long. “You could treat us like the rest of them do—like we’re nothing more than your innkeepers, people who provide a place for you to bunk. But you, I don’t know, actually seem to like spending time with the people here. You’re… interesting. And you’re interested. In Sixteen. In us. You don’t immediately try to sanitize your palms after shaking someone’s hand down here.” 
In Terra's world, resources are scarce and many people make their living as "scavs," hunting for scraps to turn in on Collection Day in exchange for credits. For this tour, YOU are a scav, and there are scraps all over the blogosphere for you to find! On each participating blog, there will be one of 9 possible questions. Answer the question to receive a keyword that will get you an extra entry in the awesome giveaway!



Giveaway April 1 - 26

One lucky scav will win a Terra prize pack! Get a signed copy of Terra, along with three exclusive (and gorgeous!) bookmarks, as well as a delicate silver watch--just like Terra's!--all packed up inside a scav bag of your very own! US only.

An additional five (FIVE!) winners will get a digital copy of Terra in the format of their choice. International.

Open only to those who can legally enter. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by Rafflecopter and announced on Rafflecopter and Grand Finale posts as well as emailed and the winner will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Burgandy Ice @ Colorimetry and Prism Book Tours and sponsored by Gretchen Powell. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Terra on Tour!!
April 2013

Check out the Reviews of Terra!! And become a "scav" and track down all the answers to the Collections questions hidden in the excerpts. :-)  Plus, celebrate Gretchen's birthday by bringing something fun to the party!!

1 - April Fool's Day LAUNCH!
 - Colorimetry
 - I Am a Reader, Not a Writer Excerpt 1
 - fuonlyknew Excerpt 2
2 - A Tiffyfit's Reading Corner Review
 - Pause Time - Review
3 - Jessie's Book Place Excerpt 3
 - The Reading Diaries - Excerpt 4
4 - Mel's Shelves - Review
5 - Lovin' Los Libros - Review

7 - Christy's Cozy Corner - Review
 - Total Book Geek - Excerpt 5
8 - The Quiet Concert - Review
9 - LDS & Lovin' It - Review
10 - Jessabella Reads - Excerpt 6
11 - Gretchen's Birthday Party!!
 - Passion & Life - Excerpt 7
12 - Tressa's Wishful Endings - Review

14 - Living a Goddess Life - Review
 - Books, Books and More Books - Review
15 - Marked by Books - Excerpt 8
16 - Blood, Sweat and Books - Review
 - My Seryniti - Review
17 - Bookworm Lisa - Review
 - Mortality Bites - Excerpt 9
18 - Getting Your Read On - Review
 -The Broke Book Bank Interview 10

19 - Grand Finale Blast!!

Tuesday, March 5, 2013

Review: Seduced by Pain

Title:  Seduced By Pain
Author:  Kimberly Kinrade
Release Date:  Feb 2013


Their passion will destroy them.
Only true love can save them. 

"Hope is a fragile thing, yet strangely enduring. It hides in the crevices of pain, burrowing deep until unseen, for fear that sorrow, in its rage, will devour hope's desperate hold on the heart. 

It can live there for years, silent and waiting. Or, it can be slaughtered with a word-- mankind's most powerful weapon.

They say that universes are created with words.

And with words, they are destroyed.

Just as mine has been."

In the sequel to Seduced by Innocence, Derek and Rose face even greater threats to their love as Derek fights to protect the core of his family's power while Rose struggles to control her own dark gift.

Recommended for 17+ due to explicit sexual content. This is a new adult paranormal romance with erotic content and includes shifters, demons and witches. 
**Rose's story is a trilogy, not stand alone books. The first two books have cliffhanger endings. Her complete story in one book will be available as "Seduced" when the author finishes writing all three books and they are out. If you do not like cliffhanger endings, please consider waiting to purchase  Seduced until the omnibus edition is out.**


Rose and Derek's story continues in Seduced by Pain and it is one thrilling adventure.  This story has found a way into my heart and I find myself holding my breath as they race to what I hope is a beautiful Happily Ever After. 

This time around their love is put to the test all while they try to save their families.  They learn what it means to fight for what they believe in and they both seem to find there place in the world.  Sometimes family is the people that you choose to love rather than the people you were born to.

We are introduced to several more characters that I fell in love with.  This series has taken a turn that could lead to endless possibilities. 

Seduced by Pain is wonderfully written.  It is emotional and riveting! 

Once again we are left wanting more!  I personally can not wait to see where Kimberly Kinrade leads us in the next and final book in the trilogy. 

I don't think I will ever get enough of Rose and Derek!  

Submit to the Seduced Saga as Derek and Rose face their future while unraveling the mysteries of their past.

Look for these books in the Seduced Saga coming 2013.

Seduced by Innocence (Rose's Story, Book 1)
Seduced by Pain (Rose's Story, Book 2)
March 2013- Seduced by Power (Rose's Story, Book 3)

TBA - Seduced by the Sea (Ocean's Story)
TBA- Seduced by Love (A Surprise!)

About The Author:
Kimberly Kinrade was born with ink in her veins and magic in her heart. She writes fantasy and paranormal stories for all ages and still believes in magic worlds. Check out her YA paranormal series The Forbidden Trilogy, her lower grade fantasy series The Three Lost Kids, and watch for her New Adult romance and fantasy books coming in 2013 including The Seduced Saga, Sunrise and Nightfall, Death by Destiny and The Fallen Trilogy and her next YA fantasy adventure, The Reluctant Familiar. You can find her books on Amazon, B&N and Goodreads among other fine retailers.  
When she's not writing, she runs Daring Books Design& Marketing with her husband, Dmytry Karpov, where they help authors with all manner of marketing, editing, and design needs until such a time that their brilliant children take over the business for them. 
She lives with her three little girls who think they're ninja princesses with super powers, her two cats who think they're gods (and probably are), her two dogs who think they're humans and her husband, also known as the sexy Russian Prince, who is the love of her life and writing partner.
Amazon ~ B&N ~ iTunes ~ Kobo ~ Smashwords ~ Bookiejar


Monday, March 4, 2013

No Strings Attached Giveaway Hop

This is hop for all the people who hate jumping through hoops to enter giveaways. 

This is a no strings attached, no requirements to enter hop.
I am giving away a kindle copy of Contingency and Relativity!
Please read my Giveaway Policy before entering!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Now Keep Hoppin.....

Blog Design by Imagination Designs all images from the Vampire Diary kit by Sussie M Design