Tuesday, January 29, 2013

Review: Blood Of The Sorceress




Title:  Blood of the Sorceress
Author:  Maggie Shayne
Series:  The Portal #3
Release Date: October, 12, 2012
Publisher:  Harlequin
Source: Publisher Via NetGalley
 

Summary:

Their LOVE was destiny. Was a CURSE to be their undoing?

As an ancient king’s favorite harem slave, Lilia committed the worst of all possible crimes: loving another man. When the king discovered her treason, her lover was sentenced to lose his soul and linger in eternal imprisonment, and Lilia herself was executed alongside her sisters. While they reincarnated through countless lifetimes, she lingered alone between worlds for thousands of years, waiting for the moment to rescue her beloved Demetrius.

Now that moment has come. Demetrius has broken free, but without his soul and in the thrall of the same high priest who betrayed them so long ago; he has become a ravaging demon, devoting himself solely to pleasure and power. Somehow Lilia must convince him to reclaim his humanity, to abandon the enemy tempting him to give in to his cruel desires—or her life will be lost alongside his, both of them condemned to eternal damnation, eternal isolation, their love lost one final and irrevocable time.

Review:

Blood of the Sorceress was the final book in the Portal Series and I am so sad to see it end.  Lilia and her sisters will forever be in my heart.

Maggie Shayne is a true sorceress when it comes to the written word.  Her imagination is genuine and her ability to craft a magical world filled with such love and power is unrivaled.  The Portal series is undeniably the most extraordinary witchcraft story on the market today.

Blood of the Sorceress had me sitting on the edge of my seat with a prayer in my heart that these two characters would find that happy ending that we all strive for every day.  Demetrius has been through the worst kind of hell and Lilia has held on to hope when all has seemed lost. They have the kind of epic love that refuses to die and I felt like I have been right beside them throughout their journey.

The Portal Series holds a special place on my bookshelf as well as in my heart.  I hope that you take the time to read this remarkable story about three witches who against all odds right a tremendous wrong and live to love for the rest of their lives.

  




Buy Links:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Sunday, January 27, 2013

Review: Stolen Nights


Stolen Nights (Vampire Queen, #2)
Title:  Stolen Nights
Author:  Rebecca Maizel
Series:  Vampire Queen #2
Release Date:  January 29, 2013
Publisher:  St. Martin's Griffin
Format:  eARC
Source:  Publisher via NetGalley

Summary:
 
Lenah Beaudonte should be dead. But having sacrificed herself to save another, she finds herself awakening with strange powers that are neither vampire nor human—and a new enemy on her trail. In her vampire life, Lenah had thought that being human was all she ever wanted; but the human heart suffers pain, heartbreak and loss.

With her new powers growing and the dark force of the Nex after her soul, Lenah faces a choice: between the mortal love of gorgeous Justin, whose passion fed her human soul, and taking a different path to become the mistress of her own destiny, wherever that may lead...
 
 
Review:

Stolen Nights started off where Infinite Days ended.  Lenah is dealing with the fact that the ritual that was supposed to kill her didn't work and that that very same ritual left her soul mate Rhode alive as well, but this is the kind of magic that is never supposed to happen and there are consequences.

Lenah is given the choice to go back in time to where she was human girl where she will never meet her soul mate or stay in the present but not be allowed to be with him.  She chooses the present where she has her memories but can still see Rhode even if not in an intimate way.

This is a series that had me going though so many emotions it was incredible.  The love that these two share is beautiful.  The tragedy that befalls them is devastating and even the end we are left with uncertainty. 

Rebecca Maizel writes a twisted and complicated tale about what it is to love as a vampire and live with the desire to be human.  As soul mates Lenah and Rhode will forever be connected.

Sometimes love is so strong that it will defy even the hands of time.

We are left with one heck of a cliffhanger and I really hope we don't have a long wait for book three.

 
 
 
 
Buy Links:
 
 
 

Saturday, January 26, 2013

Review: Indomitable



Indomitable (Intangible, #0.75)
Title:  Indomitable
Author: J. Meyers
Series:  Intangible 0.75
Release Date:  Dec 22, 2012
Format:  ebook
Pages:  50
Source:  Author

Summary:

Perhaps the most dangerous person to gain unimaginable power is the one who feels oppressed.

And full of wrath. For very good reason.





Review:

Indomitable is a prequel novella to J. Meyers' first book, Intangible.  It tells the story of how Jonas lived as a human and his his vengeful journey becoming a vampire.  I have loved Jonas from he very beginning but after reading this novella I can see how he has kept his pain inside him and I want more than ever for him to find his HEA.

J. Meyers is an incredible author and I can not wait to see what will happen in her future books.  Meyers writes her books in a way that gives you a new and fresh look at a magical world.


About The Author:

J. Meyers
j. meyers grew up in Vermont, spent three years in Germany when she was a kid, and now lives in Central New York. When she's not reading or writing, she's chasing after her four kids, exploring the outdoors with her family, baking sweet treats, and forgetting to make dinner. Intangible is her first novel.



Buy Links:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble






Friday, January 25, 2013

Biannual Blogathon Kickoff!

Biannual Blogathon Bash
 

The Biannual Blogathon Bash is a twice yearly event designed for bloggers to get much needed work done on their blog. All bloggers are welcome. The event is 72 hours, do as much blogging as you can during this time.

It's time!

Are you excited? I know I am!

Here is my list of things to do.

  • 10 hours blogging at least  
  • 6 reviews or more
  • 1 giveaway
  • Start a blog planner
  • ORGANIZE (this is going to be the most important one)

There are some great prizes so if you havent signed up yet then what are you waiting for?

Monday, January 14, 2013

No Strings Attached Giveaway Hop

 
 
 
 
Mortality Bites is giving away one mystery book pack. 
 
 
 
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Now Keep Hopping...


Thursday, January 3, 2013

Blog Tour: Enlightened: A Tale of Love and Light + Excerpt






Title: Enlightened: A Tale of Love and Light
Author: Melissa Lummis
Format: Ebook
Pages: 302
Release Date: November 1st 2012








Summary


Loti Dupree fears that when her husband died, she lost her soul. Harboring a painful secret, she flees her life in a small Appalachian town for the ashram, the spiritual retreat where she trained to be a yogini. But she is running from more than grief. An ominous nightmare the night before she leaves sets her on a dangerous path of self-discovery that challenges everything she believes – and threatens her life.
While dodging psychic attacks from an unknown assailant, she struggles with her growing attraction to a broody, handsome and completely frustrating vampire. Loti races to understand who and what she is before her anonymous enemy catches up with her.
Loti thought she couldn't survive her husband’s death, but among healers, witches, and vampires, she discovers not only a future, but a family.



Excerpt

He pressed warm lips to her trembling ones. Her head swam with panic as he slid his arms around her, deepening the kiss. His hands wandered over her back, skating under her shirt hem and over her warm, bare skin. When his fingers grazed her flesh, it dawned on her that she was kissing him back. Her arms were wrapped around his waist, and their stomachs, and lower things, melded together. Horrified, she shoved Jeremy’s hips away, breaking the kiss and hissed through gritted teeth, “Stop.”

Jeremy’s eyes were glazed and half hidden by his shaggy hair. His breath was shallow as one arm fell away from her and the other gripped the storage rack behind her. She turned away from his broad chest into his hard, muscular arm.

“Don’t be mad, okay?” he whispered.

Lust and revulsion tangled in her belly as she mumbled, “Jeremy...please.” She caught her breath. “David. . .”

His arm dropped out of the way, and his fevered eyes cooled into a careful concern. “Hey, I get it. No explanation necessary.” He wrapped a hand around hers, giving it a mollifying squeeze. When she didn’t pull back right away, he leaned his forehead against hers. For a second they both closed their eyes, Loti yielding to his comforting gesture. When he crept closer, she splayed her free hand against his chest and shoved.

“That’s enough, Don Juan.”

He stumbled back and she swallowed down the confusing mix of emotions. Holding him at bay, she extracted her other hand from his as she scuttled out the door. His chin dropped, eyes still closed, as he drooped against the wall. Out in the open space of the studio, she took a deep breath and turned to face him. He stood in the doorway, hands in his pockets, his hair hiding his eyes as he studied his flip flops. His long surfer shorts showed off muscular calves. How old is he, anyway? 25? She was only 30, but she felt so much older.

“I know I’m a fool, Jeremy.” Her voice shook despite her careful control.

He looked up through the curtain of bangs. His light-hearted smile absolved her. “I’ve had a thing for you for a while.” He shrugged it off and reached down for his yoga mat.

She forced herself to look in his eyes as he straightened. “I’m not ready.”

He cleared his throat. “So when will you be?” And he flung the mat over his shoulder.

Her stomach did a flip and she licked the corner of her mouth. “I don’t know. It’s still fresh.” Her gaze wavered.

Jeremy flicked the hair out of his eyes. “I’m not going to push it. Don’t worry.” He smiled wider, showing teeth. “But you’ve got to know how damn hot you are. Maybe when you get back from this trip.”

Loti relaxed the hands she’d balled up. A warm blush bloomed across her cheeks, and she rolled her eyes. “Yeah, maybe.”
 
 
 
 
 
 
About the Author

Melissa Lummis considers herself a truth seeker, a peaceful warrior, a paranormal and fantasy writer, an avid reader, a thru-hiker GA├áME ’98, a wife, a mother, and a free thinker. She believes the universe conspires to help an adventurer. And if we live our lives as if it is a daring adventure (and it is!), then everything we need will find its way to us. The author lives in rural Virginia with her husband, two children, an Alaskan Malamute and a myriad of forest creatures. The nature of her mind dictates that she write to stay sane. Otherwise, her fertile imagination takes off on tangents of its own accord, creating scenarios and worlds that confuse the space-time continuum. Namaste, dear friends.

 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs all images from the Vampire Diary kit by Sussie M Design